Coal mining grew in such importance that the community was incorporated as a town in 1919, a status that it maintained until 1949, when the decline of local coal mines resulted in out migration and economic decline.
Coal mined at Joggins during the first decades of the 20th century primarily fed two electrical generating stations near Maccan, however these plants were outdated by the 1950s and the mines closed shortly after the Springhill Mining Disaster in 1958.
A late nineteenth century age has been inferred, with most props dating from the 1860s and 1870s.
The coal mines attracted a diverse number of workers, some as young as 12 years.
The Bay of Fundy also boosts a rich tradition of shipbuilding.
In the 1800s, wooden coastal schooners were built on the shore to carry coal and mill stones to the United States.
In 2008, the Joggins Fossil Cliffs were designated as a UNESCO natural heritage site.
The Joggins area is ecologically diverse and rich in wildlife. In the fall the area is popular with birdwatchers; the rich marshes, originally diked by the Acadians in the 1600s, attract hundreds of thousands of migrating birds.
Joggins has been known for its fossils since the early 19th century.
The fossils are found in the exposed Pennsylvanian coal seams in the cliffs that overlook the shore.
The Bay of Fundy has the highest tides in the world.
Visitors can walk on the ocean floor at low tide, or go rafting on the tidal bore.